Monday, August 30, 2010

I made the appt

So I made an appt today to take the dog to the vet. I'm glad they can get her in today. I hope it doesn't cost more than what's left on our credit card. I dread going. I omitted the real reason when I spoke with the receptionist. I may work up the courage to call her back before lunch in case they need to do anything to prepare to test her.

I'm going to have to take the kids. That's the worst part. At least they're old enough that Rebekah can sit with them in the waiting room. Maybe I'll see if they can go to a friend's house. I'll try to call them soon. It might not take long, so somebody taking them for an hour isn't so bad.

Steve is convinced you can get heartworm pills OTC real cheap. I tried to order them once before from an online petmeds place, but they still wanted the vet's contact info and you couldn't complete the order without it. You could order the frontline, but not the pills. So that's partly why she hasn't had it. Steve even suggested that we could maybe just let the pills slowly kill off the heartworms and not have to go through the difficult treatment. I was surprised by that. But I don't want her to suffer any more than she already has, and if there's already damage, I don't want any more. I'd rather do the treatment. Of course, if there's a huge cost because the vet doesn't feel so sympathetic to our financial situation, then that might be all we can do. Or maybe the vet will say he doesn't think there's been much damage yet and we can wait and see because treatment is pretty risky if the dog gets hyper because she has to be quiet for weeks to let the dead worms absorb into her system. Or maybe he'll say we're VERY lucky and she's just fat.

Anyway, I'm facing a major fear today. Better sooner than later, I think, that's why I took the appt so soon since they had a cancellation. Hopefully, a lot of my "if this and if that" will be answered.

No comments:

Post a Comment